Skip to main content


Planen Sie Ihren Messebesuch

The Future Library - A Century Enfolds

17 October 2020
Live now
BOOKFEST digital

Future Library was inaugurated in 2014. A forest was planted in Norway, which will supply paper for a special anthology of books to be printed in 2114. One writer every year of the project will contribute a text, with the writings held in trust, unread and unpublished, until the one hundred years has passed.
The manuscripts will be stored in a specially designed room in the new public library in Oslo. The writers who have contributed texts to date, and who appear in the film, are Margaret Atwood (2014), David Mitchell (2015), Sjón (2016), Elif Shafak (2017) and Han Kang (2018). The 2019 author is Norwegian writer Karl Ove Knausgård, who will present his manuscript as soon as the corona situation makes it possible. Author for 2020 is Ocean Vuong.
This version of the film is made with the support of NORLA (Norwegian Literature Abroad).