Skip to main content

 

Plan your visit to the fair

The CREATE YOUR REVOLUTION videos

CREATE YOUR REVOLUTION makes creative artists' and activists' voices heard, by giving a stage to the ones that realised that their actions have a positive effect on the world and want to make a change, create their own revolution.

Ai Weiwei auf der Frankfurter Buchmesse

A cooperation project

Together with the German-French cultural channel ARTE, a series of conversations were filmed that introduce a selection of these people. Moderated by Nazan Gökdemir, CREATE YOUR REVOLUTION encounters concert pianist Igor Levit, climate activist Luisa Neubauer, Chinese artist Ai Weiwei and many more. The conversations will be made public regularly, here and in the ARTE media centre.

Interview with Igor Levit and Luisa Neubauer

They only knew each other via Twitter - ARTE and the Frankfurter Buchmesse have now brought them together on an exciting exchange on sustainability: climate activist Luisa Neubauer and star pianist Igor Levit.

Luisa Neubauer und Igor Levit im Interview

Interview with Ai Weiwei

“For me, art is life”, says Ai Weiwei, explaining his self-perception as an artist. At his studio in Berlin, he speaks about the power of culture, why he’s leaving Germany, and how art can change society and the way people think.

Ai Weiwei im Interview bei Create Your Revolution

About the protagonists

Igor Levit bei Create Your Revolution

Igor Levit

When playing the piano, Igor Levit unites “acoustic charm, intellectual drive and technical brilliance” (The New Yorker). With an alert and critical mind, he places his art in the context of what’s going on in society, which he regards as inseparable from his playing.

When playing the piano, Igor Levit unites “acoustic charm, intellectual drive and technical brilliance” (The New Yorker). With an alert and critical mind, he places his art in the context of what’s going on in society, which he regards as inseparable from his playing.

The New York Times describes Igor Levit as one of the “one of the essential artists of his generation”, the Süddeutsche Zeitung as “serendipitous” for today’s concert scene. Igor Levit’s artistic versatility not only makes him one of the world’s leading pianists. He is also Artistic Director of Heidelberger Frühling’s “Chamber Music Academy” and “Chamber Music Festival: Standpunkte”. In early 2019, he was appointed Professor for Piano at his Alma Mater, the University of Music, Theatre and Media in Hannover.

Luisa Neubauer auf der Frankfurter Buchmesse

Luisa Neubauer

Luisa-Marie Neubauer (born 21 April 1996 in Hamburg) is a German climate protection activist. In Germany, she is one of the main organisers of the school climate strike “Fridays for Future” inspired by Greta Thunberg.

Luisa-Marie Neubauer (born 21 April 1996 in Hamburg) is a German climate protection activist. In Germany, she is one of the main organisers of the school climate strike “Fridays for Future” inspired by Greta Thunberg.

She is campaigning for a coal phase-out in Germany by 2030 and a climate policy in line with the Paris Convention. Neubauer is a member of Germany’s Green Party (Bündnis 90/Die Grünen) as well the Green Youth (Grüne Jugend). She is involved in various organisations which are active in areas like climate protection, generational equity, and the fight against global poverty.

Ai Weiwei auf der Frankfurter Buchmesse

Ai Weiwei

The Chinese sculptor, concept and installation artist, filmmaker, author and human rights activist is one of the most important representatives of contemporary Chinese art. His work attracts international attention also above all because of its' criticism of his country's regime politics.

The Chinese sculptor, concept and installation artist, filmmaker, author and human rights activist is one of the most important representatives of contemporary Chinese art. His work attracts international attention also above all because of its' criticism of his country's regime politics.

Ai Weiwei denounces, among other things, the violence perpetrated by the Chinese government against dissenters, the violation of human rights, exploitation and environmental pollution in his country. Because of his critical attitude towards the regime and his activities, the artist himself has often become a victim of government power. In 2011 he was awarded honorary membership of the Royal Academy of Arts, London. In 2015 he accepted a guest professorship at the Berlin University of the Arts (UdK).

Lady Bitch Ray

Reyhan Sahin

Reyhan Şahin aka Dr. Bitch Ray, born in Bremen, is a linguist, rapper, performance artist, actress, fashion designer and writer. She began rapping at the age of twelve and is widely known as Lady Bitch Ray. After completing her master's degree in linguistics and German studies, she wrote the first empirical study on the meaning of the Muslim headscarf, which was awarded the German Study Prize.

Reyhan Şahin aka Dr. Bitch Ray, born in Bremen, is a linguist, rapper, performance artist, actress, fashion designer and writer. She began rapping at the age of twelve and is widely known as Lady Bitch Ray. After completing her master's degree in linguistics and German studies, she wrote the first empirical study on the meaning of the Muslim headscarf, which was awarded the German Study Prize.

She is currently researching right-wing populism, Islam and gender in a graduate college and is working on her habilitation. She has published articles in "Zeit", "taz" and the "Süddeutsche Zeitung".

Hanns Zischler

Hanns Zischler

Hanns Zischler starred in over 200 international and national films for Wim Wenders, Steven Spielberg, Rudolf Thome, Claude Chabrol, Jean-Luc Godard, Istvan Szabo, Helmut Dietl, Margarethe von Trotta and Costa Gavras. In addition to his work as an actor, Hanns Zischler is also active as an author and editor.

Hanns Zischler starred in over 200 international and national films for Wim Wenders, Steven Spielberg, Rudolf Thome, Claude Chabrol, Jean-Luc Godard, Istvan Szabo, Helmut Dietl, Margarethe von Trotta and Costa Gavras. In addition to his work as an actor, Hanns Zischler is also active as an author and editor.

In 2009 he received the Heinrich Mann Prize of the Berlin Academy of the Arts, in 2011 he was awarded the Federal Cross of Merit and in 2016 the Cicero Speaker Prize. His second novel will be published in 2019 at Galliani.

Be part of the future of culture

Be part of the #CreateYourRevolution campaign and discuss the future of culture.

Direkt zum Inhalt

 

Planen Sie Ihren Messebesuch

Die Create Your Revolution-Videos

 
Create Your Revolution lässt Kulturschaffende und Aktivisten zu Wort kommen, die etwas verändern wollen, die eine eigene Revolution erschaffen und die erkannt haben, dass sie die Welt durch ihr kreatives Handeln zum Besseren verändern wollen.

Ai Weiwei auf der Frankfurter Buchmesse

Ein Gemeinschaftsprojekt

Zusammen mit dem deutsch-französischen Kultursender ARTE entstand eine Reihe von Filmen, die eine Auswahl dieser Menschen und deren Gespräche vorstellt. Moderiert von Nazan Gökdemir trifft Create Your Revolution auf den Konzertpianisten Igor Levit, die Klimaaktivistin Luisa Neubauer, den chinesischen Künstler Ai Weiwei und viele mehr. Die Gespräche werden regelmäßig hier und auf der ARTE Mediathek veröffentlicht.

Interview mit Igor Levit und Luisa Neubauer

Sie kannten sich lediglich über Twitter - ARTE und die Frankfurter Buchmesse haben sie jetzt zum Thema Nachhaltigkeit zu einem spannenden Austausch zusammengebracht: Klimaaktivistin Luisa Neubauer und Star-Pianist Igor Levit.

Luisa Neubauer und Igor Levit im Interview

Interview mit Ai Weiwei

Für mich ist Kunst Leben“, sagt Ai Weiwei über sein Selbstverständnis als Künstler. Im Interview in seinem Berliner Atelier spricht er über die Kraft der Kultur, weshalb er Deutschland verlässt und wie Kunst die Gesellschaft und die Gedanken der Menschen verändern kann.

Ai Weiwei im Interview bei Create Your Revolution

Über die Protagonisten

Igor Levit bei Create Your Revolution

Igor Levit

Igor Levit verbindet in seinem Klavierspiel „klanglichen Charme, intellektuellen Antrieb und technische Brillianz“ (The New Yorker). Mit wachem und kritischem Geist stellt er seine Kunst dabei in den Kontext des gesellschaftlichen Geschehens und begreift sie mit diesem als untrennbar verbunden.

Igor Levit verbindet in seinem Klavierspiel „klanglichen Charme, intellektuellen Antrieb und technische Brillianz“ (The New Yorker). Mit wachem und kritischem Geist stellt er seine Kunst dabei in den Kontext des gesellschaftlichen Geschehens und begreift sie mit diesem als untrennbar verbunden.

Die New York Times beschreibt Igor Levit darin als einen der „bedeutendsten Künstler seiner Generation“, die Süddeutsche Zeitung als „Glücksfall“ für das heutige Konzertgeschehen. Seine künsterliche Vielfältigkeit bringt Igor Levit nicht nur als einer der weltweit führenden Pianisten zum Audruck. Er ist Künstlerischer Leiter der Kammermusikakademie und des Standpunkte Festival des Heidelberger Frühlings. Im Frühjahr 2019 erfolgte der Ruf als Professor für Klavier an seine Alma Mater, der Hochschule für Musik, Theater und Medien Hannover.

Luisa Neubauer auf der Frankfurter Buchmesse

Luisa Neubauer

Luisa Neubauer, geboren 1996 in Hamburg, ist eine der Hauptorganisatorinnen von Fridays for Future. Sie setzt sich bei verschiedenen NGOs u.a. für Klimaschutz, Generationengerechtigkeit und gegen Armut ein. 2018 lernte sie bei der UN-Klimakonferenz die schwedische Schülerin Greta Thunberg kennen und war eine von vier deutschen Delegierten beim Jugendgipfel der G7-in Kanada.

Luisa Neubauer, geboren 1996 in Hamburg, ist eine der Hauptorganisatorinnen von Fridays for Future. Sie setzt sich bei verschiedenen NGOs u.a. für Klimaschutz, Generationengerechtigkeit und gegen Armut ein. 2018 lernte sie bei der UN-Klimakonferenz die schwedische Schülerin Greta Thunberg kennen und war eine von vier deutschen Delegierten beim Jugendgipfel der G7-in Kanada.

Die Geographie-Studentin lebt in Göttingen und Berlin.

Ai Weiwei auf der Frankfurter Buchmesse

Ai Weiwei

Der chinesische Bildhauer, Konzept- und Installationskünstler, Filmemacher, Buchautor und Menschenrechtler zählt zu den wichtigsten Vertretern der chinesischen Gegenwartskunst. Internationale Aufmerksamkeit erregt sein Werk auch, weil er darin offene Kritik an der Regimepolitik seines Landes übt. Am 11. Oktober erscheint sein neues Buch "Manifest ohne Grenzen" bei Kursbuch Edition.

Der chinesische Bildhauer, Konzept- und Installationskünstler, Filmemacher, Buchautor und Menschenrechtler zählt zu den wichtigsten Vertretern der chinesischen Gegenwartskunst. Internationale Aufmerksamkeit erregt sein Werk auch, weil er darin offene Kritik an der Regimepolitik seines Landes übt. Am 11. Oktober erscheint sein neues Buch "Manifest ohne Grenzen" bei Kursbuch Edition.

Ai Weiwei prangert unter anderem die von der chinesischen Regierung ausgeübte Gewalt gegen Andersdenkende, die Verletzung der Menschenrechte, Ausbeutung und Umweltverschmutzungen in seinem Land an. Der Künstler ist wegen seiner regimekritischen Haltung und Aktivitäten selbst vielfach Opfer der Regierungsmacht geworden. 2011 wurde ihm die Ehrenmitgliedschaft der Royal Academy of Arts, London, (Hon. RA) verliehen. 2015 hatte er eine Gastprofessur an der Berliner Universität der Künste (UdK) angenommen.

Lady Bitch Ray

Reyhan Sahin

Reyhan Şahin aka Lady Bitch Ray, geboren in Bremen, ist Sprachwissenschaftlerin, Rapperin, Performance-Künstlerin, Schauspielerin, Modemacherin und Autorin. Im Alter von zwölf Jahren begann sie zu rappen und ist einem breiten Publikum als Lady Bitch Ray bekannt. Nach ihrem Magisterabschluss in Linguistik und Germanistik verfasste sie die erste empirische Studie zum Bedeutungsgehalt des muslimischen Kopftuchs, die mit dem Deutschen Studienpreis ausgezeichnet wurde.

Reyhan Şahin aka Lady Bitch Ray, geboren in Bremen, ist Sprachwissenschaftlerin, Rapperin, Performance-Künstlerin, Schauspielerin, Modemacherin und Autorin. Im Alter von zwölf Jahren begann sie zu rappen und ist einem breiten Publikum als Lady Bitch Ray bekannt. Nach ihrem Magisterabschluss in Linguistik und Germanistik verfasste sie die erste empirische Studie zum Bedeutungsgehalt des muslimischen Kopftuchs, die mit dem Deutschen Studienpreis ausgezeichnet wurde.

Derzeit forscht sie in einem Graduiertenkolleg zu Rechtspopulismus, Islam und Gender und arbeitet an ihrer Habilitation. Artikel von ihr erscheinen u.a. in der »Zeit«, »taz« und der »Süddeutschen Zeitung«.

Hanns Zischler

Hanns Zischler

Hanns Zischler spielt in über 200 internationalen und nationalen Kinofilmen für Wim Wenders, Steven Spielberg, Rudolf Thome, Claude Chabrol, Jean-Luc Godard, Istvan Szabo, Helmut Dietl, Margarethe von Trotta und Costa Gavras. Neben seiner Arbeit als Schauspieler ist Hanns Zischler als Autor und Herausgeber tätig.

Hanns Zischler spielt in über 200 internationalen und nationalen Kinofilmen für Wim Wenders, Steven Spielberg, Rudolf Thome, Claude Chabrol, Jean-Luc Godard, Istvan Szabo, Helmut Dietl, Margarethe von Trotta und Costa Gavras. Neben seiner Arbeit als Schauspieler ist Hanns Zischler als Autor und Herausgeber tätig.

2009 erhält er den Heinrich-Mann-Preis der Berliner Akademie der Künste, 2011 wird er mit dem Bundesverdienstkreuz, 2016 mit dem Cicero-Rednerpreis geehrt. 2019 erscheint sein zweiter Roman Beim Galiani Verlag.

Die Zukunft der Kultur mitgestalten

Seien Sie bei der Kampagne #CreateYourRevolution dabei und diskutieren Sie mit über die Zukunft der Kultur.