Skip to main content

335 days to go

Plan your visit to the fair

Frankfurt New Generation

Frankfurt New Generation in Hall 3.0 K 91 at Frankfurter Buchmesse offers a new location for all the subjects that matter to young people.

 

Are you a digital native and feel at home in Virtual Reality? Artificial Intelligence is your passion? Does your heart beat for audio books, apps, books and technologies? Do want you want to get to know a cool community where you can get politically involved? Then come to us at Frankfurter Buchmese. That’s right! We have all that – in an area especially designated for young people. Here you become part of our New Generation. But join in now – before all the latest trends become old hat to you.

 

What we offer you?

A whole lot. Cosplayers bring comics, cartoons and mangas to life, while at BOOKFEST you can experience bestseller readings by your favourite authors, along with poetry slams, stimulating talks and much more. Fans of audiobooks and podcasts are in just the right place at Frankfurt Audio, and young authors can tap into new inspiration at Frankfurt Authors. All this and much more awaits you at Frankfurt New Generation at Frankfurter Buchmesse.

BOOKFEST

Frankfurt Cosplay

Frankfurt Audio

Highlights for the New Generation

New Generation auf der Frankfurter Buchmesse

New Generation Room

Young Media July will give you the hottest book and media recommendations. Hall 3.0 will also feature events with influencers and exhibitions by influencers on topics like sustainability, gender and climate.

All the events at a glance

You always like your calendar packed? Here you can find all the events that interest you.

More information

About books

Books you should absolutely know about

Reading is lots of fun – when it’s the right book. That’s why we conducted a few short interviews with our colleagues, including some book tips for you over the next few pages. Take some time to look through them!

Juergen Boos

Book tip from Juergen Boos

 

Book: "What’s the title of the book?"

Author: Gilles Paris

Publisher: btb

What’s it about?

Nine-year-old Icare, nicknamed Plum, lives alone with his mother because his father left the family years ago. His mother has a paralyzed leg from a car accident and is unemployed, as well as an alcoholic. She often complains about the sky and beats her son, so Icare sees a connection and begins to believe that if he killed the sky, his mother would no longer get upset and hit him. When he finds a revolver in her dresser, he shoots it into the clouds with the intention of killing the sky. His mother hears this, runs out and tries to snatch the gun from him. A fatal shot is fired…

Why did you like it?

Fairy-tale like, absurd, moving.

Whom would you recommend it to?

To everyone! Any age group!

What do you do at Frankfurter Buchmesse?

Director.

What are you especially looking forward to at the Buchmesse 2019?

All the authors from the Guest of Honour Norway.

Christiane Stöcker auf der Frankfurter Buchmesse

Book tip from Christiane Stöcker

 

Book: "Was wir dachten, was wir taten“

Author: Lea-Lina Oppermann

Publisher: Beltz & Gelberg Verlag

What’s it about?

Chaos in a school. A masked person enters the classroom and with a loaded pistol in hand, forces people to do certain tasks, which ruthlessly reveals secrets. Arrogance, thefts, following in lock-step behind others, lies - personal downfalls that are carefully hidden behind facades. Fiona struggles, and is bewildered by her inability to act. Mark feels satisfaction, and Mr. Filler fluctuates between aggression and passivity. When they unmask the attacker, the limits of normality are so far gone that there is no turning back for anyone.

Why did you like it?

The story is told from three perspectives, which maintains the tension right to the end. The ending is then very surprising. I read the book in one sitting.

 

Whom would you recommend it to?

I recommended the book to my 13-year-old nephew and would recommend it to girls and boys of the same age. However, the book is definitely recommendable for adults as well.

 

What do you do at Frankfurter Buchmesse?

I am assistant to the book fair director. During the fair, I manage the fair director’s office and accompany the director to his many appointments.

 

What are you especially looking forward to at Buchmesse 2019?

The BOOKSFEST, because I always enjoy how the book fair takes place on the weekend at different locations in Frankfurt. My fair highlight: Jo Nesbo’s reading.

Direkt zum Inhalt

Noch 304 Tage

Planen Sie Ihren Messebesuch

Frankfurt New Generation

Mit Frankfurt New Generation hat die Frankfurter Buchmesse in Halle 3.0 K 91 jetzt einen eigenen Ort für die Themen von Jugendlichen.

 

Du bist Digital Native und fühlst dich in der Virtual Reality wie zuhause? Artificial Intelligence ist deine Leidenschaft? Und du brennst für Hörbücher, stehst auf Apps, Bücher, Technologien und willst eine coole Community kennenlernen, in der du dich auch politisch engagieren kannst? Dann komm zu uns auf die Frankfurter Buchmesse … richtig gelesen! Das gibt’s alles bei uns – in einem Bereich speziell für Jugendliche. Hier wirst du Teil unserer New Generation. Aber am besten schnell, bevor die neuesten Trends für dich schon wieder ein alter Hut sind.

 

Was Frankfurt New Generation dir bietet?

Eine ganze Menge: Cosplayer erwecken Comics, Cartoons oder Mangas zum Leben. Beim BOOKFEST erlebst du Bestseller-Lesungen Deiner Lieblingsautoren, Poetry Slams, spannende Talk-Runden und vieles mehr. Fans von Hörbüchern und Podcasts sind bei Frankfurt Audio genau richtig, und junge Autoren können sich bei Frankfurt Authors mit neuer Inspiration versorgen. Das alles und noch viel mehr erwartet dich bei Frankfurt New Generation auf der Frankfurter Buchmesse.

Highlights für die New Generation

New Generation auf der Frankfurter Buchmesse

New Generation Room

Von der JungeMedienJury bekommt ihr die heißesten Buch- und Mediampefehlungen. In Halle 3.0 erwarten euch außerdem Events mit Influencern und Influencer-Ausstellungen zu Themen wie Nachhaltigkeit, Gender oder Klima.

Imprerssionen

5 Fragen an ...

Diese Bücher solltest du unbedingt kennen

Lesen macht viel Spaß – wenn’s das richtige Buch ist. Deshalb haben wir ein paar kurze Interviews mit unseren Kollegen inklusive Buchempfehlungen für euch auf der Seite verteilt: Da solltet ihr unbedingt mal reinschnuppern.

Juergen Boos

Buchtipp von Juergen Boos

 

Buch: „Autobiografie einer Pflaume“

Autor: Gilles Paris

Verlag: btb

Worum geht’s?

Der neunjährige Icare, genannt Pflaume, lebt alleine mit seiner Mutter, da sein Vater die Familie vor Jahren verlassen hat. Seine Mutter hat seit einem Autounfall ein gelähmtes Bein und ist arbeitslos, außerdem Alkoholikerin. Sie schimpft oft über den Himmel und verprügelt ihren Sohn, worin Icare einen Zusammenhang sieht und daher glaubt, wenn er den Himmel umbrächte, müsste sich seine Mutter nicht mehr aufregen und würde ihn nicht mehr schlagen. Als er in ihrer Kommode einen Revolver findet, schießt er damit in die Wolken, in der Absicht, den Himmel umzubringen. Seine Mutter hört dies, läuft hinaus und versucht, ihm die Waffe zu entreißen, wobei sich ein Schuss löst und sie tödlich trifft ...

Warum gefällt es dir?

Märchen, absurd, liebevoll.

Wem würdest du es empfehlen?

Allen! Jedes Alter!

Was machst du bei der Frankfurter Buchmesse?

Direktor.

 Worauf freust du dich auf der Buchmesse 2019 besonders?

Auf die Autoren des Ehrengastlandes Norwegen.

Christiane Stöcker auf der Frankfurter Buchmesse

Buchtipp von Christiane Stöcker

 

Buch: "Was wir dachten, was wir taten“

Autor: Lea-Lina Oppermann

Verlag: Beltz & Gelberg Verlag

Worum geht’s?

Amokalarm in einer Schule. Eine maskierte Person dringt ins Klassenzimmer ein und diktiert mit geladener Pistole Aufgaben, die erbarmungslos die Geheimnisse aller an die Oberfläche zerren. Arroganz, Diebstähle, Mitläufertum, Lügen – hinter sorgsam gepflegten Fassaden tun sich persönliche Abgründe auf. Fiona ringt fassungslos mit ihrer Handlungsunfähigkeit, Mark verspürt Genugtuung und Herr Filler schwankt zwischen Aggression und Passivität. Als sie den Angreifer enttarnen, sind die Grenzen der Normalität so weit überschritten, dass es für niemanden mehr ein Zurück gibt.

Warum gefällt es dir?

Die Geschichte wird aus drei Perspektiven erzählt, was den Spannungsbogen bis zuletzt aufrechterhält. Das Ende ist zudem sehr überraschend. Ich habe das Buch in einem durchgelesen.

 

Wem würdest du es empfehlen?

Ich selbst habe das Buch von meinem damals 13-jährigen Neffen empfohlen bekommen und würde es Mädchen und Jungs im selben Alter empfehlen. Allerdings ist das Buch auch durchaus für Erwachsene geeignet.

 

Was machst du bei der Frankfurter Buchmesse?

Ich bin eine der Assistentinnen des Buchmesse Direktors. Während des Messegeschehens betreue ich das Büro der Messedirektion und begleite den Direktor zu seinen zahlreichen Terminen.

 

Worauf freust du dich auf der Buchmesse 2019 besonders?

Auf das BOOKFEST, da ich es immer wieder schön finde, wenn die Buchmesse sich am Wochenende an verschiedensten Orten in der Stadt wiederfindet. Mein Messe-Highlight: Die Lesung von Jo Nesbo :)