Skip to main content

30 days to go

Plan your visit to the fair

Weltempfang

In the age of man – the Anthropocene – we have to ask ourselves the question: Has our influence on the planet become too extreme? Answers can be found at the Weltempfang – the center for politics, literature and translation in hall 4.1 / B 81.

 

This year’s Weltempfang at Frankfurter Buchmesse is dedicated to the relationship between culture and nature. A coexistence in which man has increasingly dominated his environment. But in the near future, this will no longer be the case– as we have already plundered nature in many forms.

With consumption of oil and coal, we allowed the levels of CO2 in the atmosphere to virtually explode. To the same extent, we have deprived plant and animal species of their habitat. With scientific and technical leaps, such as artificial

 

intelligence, we are driving evolution further and further – but to what end if we are continuously destroying our own biotope?

Weltempfang is a collective project of Frankfurter Buchmesse and the German Federal Foreign Office, and in 2019, will once again be the spot for an open exchange of ideas and political dialogue. Something we need now more than ever.

 

Events and topics

In round table discussions with international figures, we will shed light on the Anthropocene Age as a whole. Together, we will answer the basic questions, such as: How does man position himself within nature? Or outside of nature? What are the limits of our growth? And what happens when these are reached?

3.00 - 4.00 pm

"Cruel husbandry. The relationship between man and animal in industrial husbandry"

What to expect:

Jean-Baptiste Del Amos's novel “Animalia” (Fitzcarraldo Editions 2019) recounts the fate of a pig-farming family and the development of a farm into an industrial scale pig farm. As the people brutally exploit the resources of animals, they grow ever distant to nature. A discussion round with Robert Habeck will look into how we can counter this development through modern agriculture policies.

Participants: Robert Habeck, Jean-Baptiste Del Amo

Moderated by: Cord Riechelman

4.30 - 5.30 pm  

"Opening Event: The Anthropocene - Does culture trump nature?"

What to expect:

The relationship between culture and nature had changed. Human influence on “our” planet is increasing visibly; human beings have become actors. Yet the climate doesn’t care. How are human beings choosing to describe themselves within nature and nature itself? How can processes be steered? Ultimately, aren’t we saving not nature but rather ourselves – entirely in keeping with a strateg of survival?

Participants: Friederike Otto, Harald Welzer, Maja Lunde

Moderated by: Jenny Friedrich-Freksa

Welcome address: Juergen Boos, Irmgard Maria Fellner

 

2.30 – 3.30 pm

"Between Nature and Technology – Future Visions from China"

What to expect:

Climate change, pollution, rapidly growing megacities – Chinese science fiction always responds to current controversial issues. Chi Hui imagines what would happen if people lost control over the processes they set in motion. How far are we from these futuristic visions from China? Can we still save the world?

Participants: Chi Hui, Song Mingwei

Moderated by: Vera Tollmann

4.30 – 5.30 pm

"Trends in Children’s Literature – Arab and German Voices" 

What to expect:

Children’s books, their topics, narrative styles and design preferences always reflect society’s ideas about being a child. How do the ideas of current children’s books from the Arab World compare to those from Germany? Which stories are told? What role does a child’s daily life play? What role does fantasy play?

Participants: Hussain Al Mutawaa, Christiane Raabe, Stephan Trudewind

Moderated by: Stefan Weidner

12.00 am – 1.00 pm 

"More Than Words: Václav Havel – winner of the 1989 Peace Prize"

In October 1989, Václav Havel received the Peace Prize of the German Booksellers Association, which he was unable to accept in person. The acceptance speech he wrote, “Words on Words”, about the power of words and using them responsibly, is more relevant than ever today. What can we learn from history? How powerful are words? What are we allowed to say today – and where and how?

Participants: Hans Maier, Michael Žantovský, Alexander Aleksejewitsch Drozdow

Moderator: Josef Joffe

1.30 – 2.30 pm 

"British Writers and Brexit"

What to expect:

The Brexit vote brought about a political and constitutional crisis and opened a deep divide in British society. What is the background to what some consider the greatest democratic exercise in British history and others a dangerous triumph of populism, an attack of democracy that threatens to break up the United Kingdom and sever its alliance with the rest of the EU? Writers from England, Ireland and Wales offer their perspectives on the causes and impact of Brexit.

Participants: Jan Carson, Bonnie Greer, Patrick McGuinness

Moderated by: Alexandra Büchler

 

3.00-4.00 pm

"Keep or give back? Working with collections from colonial contexts"

What to expect:

The topic of how to deal with collections from colonial contexts is gaining importance in Germany due to the Savoy/Sarr Report and other factors. At the same time, both human remains and cultural assets have already been returned to their countries of origin, such as the Witbooi Bible’s transfer to Namibia. How should the process be structured in future and who should be involved? What forms of repatriation can be considered and what role can digitalisation and the production of replicas play? What forms might future bilateral and international cooperations take?

Participants: Inés de Castro, Rebekka Habermas, Manfred Loimeier

Moderated by: Bartholomäus Grill

4.00 – 5.00 pm

"Criticism Not Welcome?"

What to expect:

Civil society isn’t just increasingly under pressure in Central and Eastern Europe; here in Germany the legitimacy and mandate of civil-society organisations is also being criticised. What must – and can – these organisations do? Who defines the scope of their power and responsibility? Can a legal framework help to shore up free speech?

Participants: József Péter Martin, Jürgen Resch, Christian Bommarius, Eva Menasse

Moderated by: Hartmut Bäumer

4.30  – 5.30 pm

"Artists, Fighters, Cosmopolites: Women write the 21st century"

What to expect:

Jennifer Clement, Elif Shafak and Mercedes Rosende enjoy international success. In their novels, outsiders play leading roles. Are these authors writing against the pre-defined roles that novels typically make available to women? A conversation about the characters in their novels and the representation of women in the literary industry.

Participants: Mercedes Rosende, Elif Shafak, Jennifer Clement

Moderated by: Juergen Boos

 

12.00 am – 1.00 pm

"30 Years Since the Fall of the Wall – 30 Years Since the Velvet Revolution"

What to expect:

In Germany, along with all of Middle and Eastern Europe, the year 1989 stands for the beginning of fundamental changes. History offers few such examples of when, within just a short period of time, so many countries simultaneously experienced a complete and fundamental change in the system of government that reached all the way from the political to the economic and cultural spheres.  

Participants: Rita Süssmuth, František Mikloško, Petr Pithart 

Moderated by: Daniel Kraft

3.00 – 4.00 pm

"Between hope and helplessness – Is climate change unstoppable?" 

What to expect:

The living conditions on our planet are changing, and the effect of mankind has never been so great. What does science have to say about the state of the Earth, and what hope lies in technologies like artificial intelligence? What visions of the future are coming out of the literary scene when it envisions climate change? What happens as a result of the protests of young people; what fears do they have?

Short video: Paul J. Crutzen 

Participants: Uwe Schneidewind, Luisa Neubauer, Thore D. Hansen, Michael Müller

Moderated by: Ulrich Noller, Journalist and author

 

Our influence on the planet: indisputable

The romantic concept of untouched nature no longer exists. It’s no wonder – since 1960 the world’s population has rocketed to over seven billion people. We have become the driving force of change on Earth – and make this abundantly clear with mountains of rubbish, dried up lakes, and polluted oceans, to name just a few of the images characterising the Anthropocene Age.

What do you need for an inspiring fair experience?

A ticket. Buy one now and take it all in, network, and discuss at Frankfurter Buchmesse.

Direkt zum Inhalt

Noch 23 Tage

Planen Sie Ihren Messebesuch

Weltempfang

In der Epoche des Menschen – dem Anthropozän – müssen wir uns die Frage stellen: Ist unser Einfluss auf den Planeten zu extrem geworden? Antworten finden Sie auf dem Weltempfang – dem Zentrum für Politik, Literatur und Übersetzung in Halle 4.1/B 81.

 

Der diesjährige Weltempfang der Frankfurter Buchmesse widmet sich dem Verhältnis von Kultur und Natur. Ein Zusammenspiel, bei dem sich der Mensch seine Umwelt immer weiter zum Untertan machen wird. Aber nicht erst in naher Zukunft – bereits jetzt haben wir die Natur in vielen Bereichen übernutzt.

Mit dem Verbrauch von Öl und Kohle lassen wir den CO2-Anteil in der Atmosphäre geradezu explodieren. In gleichem Maße berauben wir Pflanzen- und Tierarten ihres Lebensraums.

 

Mit wissenschaftlichen und technischen Sprüngen, wie Künstlicher Intelligenz, treiben wir die Evolution zwar immer weiter vorwärts – aber an welches Ziel, wenn wir unser eigenes Biotop kontinuierlich zugrunde richten?

Der Weltempfang ist ein Gemeinschaftsprojekt der Frankfurter Buchmesse und des Auswärtigen Amts und auch 2019 wieder der Ort für offenen Austausch und politischen Dialog. Diesen brauchen wir jetzt mehr denn je.

 

Veranstaltungen und Themen

Bei Fachdebatten mit internationalen Persönlichkeiten beleuchten wir das Anthropozän als großes Ganzes. Gemeinsam beantworten wir elementare Fragen: Wie positioniert sich der Mensch innerhalb der Natur? Oder außerhalb? Wo liegen die Grenzen unseres Wachstums? Und was geschieht, wenn diese erreicht sind?

15.00 - 16.00

"Kranke Haltung. Das Mensch-Tier-Verhältnis in der industriell betriebenen Zucht"

Das erwartet Sie:

Jean-Baptiste Del Amos Roman „Tierreich“ erzählt vom Schicksal einer Schweinezüchter-Familie und der Entwicklung eines Bauernhofes zu einem Massenzuchtbetrieb. Indem der Mensch die Ressource Tier grausam ausbeutet, wird er selbst immer naturferner. Wie kann diese Entwicklung mit einer zeitgemäßen Agrarpolitik aufgehalten werden? Was sind dieKonsequenzen hieraus ?

Teilnehmer: Jean-Baptiste Del Amo, Robert Habeck 

Moderation: Cord Riechelmann 

 

 

16.30 - 17.30 

Eröffnung des Weltempfangs: Anthropozän – steht die Kultur über der Natur?

Das erwartet Sie:

Das Verhältnis zwischen Kultur und Natur hat sich geändert. Der menschliche Einfluss auf „unseren“ Planeten nimmt sichtlich zu, der Mensch ist zum Akteur geworden. Dem Klima hingegen ist das gleichgültig. Welche Beschreibungen wählt der Mensch innerhalb der Natur über sich selbst und über diese? Wie lassen sich Prozesse steuern? Retten wir letztendlich nicht die Natur, sondern im Sinne einer Überlebensstrategie uns selbst?

Teilnehmer: Friederike Otto, Harald Welzer, Maja Lunde

Moderation: Jenny Friedrich-Freksa

Begrüßung: Juergen Boos, Irmgard Maria Fellner

 

14.30 – 15.30

"Zwischen Natur und Technologie – Zukunftsvisionen aus China"

Das erwartet Sie: 

Klimawandel, Umweltverschmutzung, rasant wachsende Megacities. Chinesische Science-Fiction-Literatur antwortet immer auch auf die brisanten Fragen ihrer Gegenwart. Chi Hui imaginiert, was passieren könnte, wenn den Menschen die Kontrolle über die von ihnen in Gang gesetzten Prozesse entgleitet. Wie weit sind wir von diesen Zukunftsvisionen aus China entfernt? Ist unsere Welt noch zu retten?

Teilnehmer: Chi Hui, Song Mingwei

Moderation: Vera Tollmann

16.30 –17.30

"Trends in der Kinderliteratur – arabische und deutsche Stimmen"

Das erwartet Sie: 

Kinderbücher, ihre Themen, Erzählweisen und Gestaltungsvorlieben spiegeln immer auch die Vorstellungen der jeweiligen Gesellschaft vom Kindsein wider. Welche Ideen zeigen sich im Vergleich von aktuellen Kinderbüchern aus der arabischen Welt und aus Deutschland? Welche Geschichten werden erzählt? Welche Rolle spielt der kindliche Alltag, welche Rolle die Phantasie?

Teilnehmer: Hussain Al Mutawaa, Christiane Raabe, Stephan Trudewind

Moderation: Stefan Weidner

12.00 - 13.00 

"Mehr als ein Wort: Václav Havel – Friedenspreisträger 1989"

Das erwartet Sie: Im Oktober 1989 erhielt Václav Havel den Friedenspreis des Deutschen Buchhandels, den er nicht persönlich entgegennehmen konnte. Havels vorgetragene Preisträgerrede „Ein Wort über das Wort“, in der es über die Macht von und den verantwortungsvollen Umgang mit Worten geht, ist heute aktueller denn je. Was können wir aus der Geschichte lernen? Wie mächtig sind Worte? Was darf heute wo und wie gesagt werden?

Teilnehmer: Hans Maier, Michael Žantovský, Alexander Aleksejewitsch Drozdow

Moderation: Josef Joffe

13.30 - 14.30

"Britische Schriftsteller und der Brexit"

Das Votum für den Brexit hat in Großbritannien eine politische und konstitutionelle Krise ausgelöst und zu einer Spaltung der Gesellschaft geführt. Was sind die Hintergründe und Auswirkungen dieser Entscheidung, die auf der einen Seite als wichtigstes demokratisches Votum und auf der anderen Seite als populistischer Angriff auf die Demokratie betrachtet wird? Inwieweit stehen die Beziehungen zur EU und die Stabilität des Königreichs auf dem Spiel?

Teilnehmer: Bonnie Greer, Jan Carson, Patrick McGuinness

Moderation: Alexandra Büchler

 

15.00 – 16.00

"Behalten oder Zurückgeben? Zum Umgang mit Sammlungsgut aus kolonialen Kontexten"

Das erwartet Sie:

Die Diskussion um den Umgang mit Sammlungsgut aus kolonialen Kontexten hat unter anderem mit dem Savoy/Sarr-Bericht auch in Deutschland Fahrt aufgenommen. Gleichzeitig hat die Rückführung menschlicher Überreste als auch von Kulturgut, z. B. die Witbooi-Bibel an Namibia, bereits stattgefunden. Wie sollte der weitere Prozess ausgestaltet und wer beteiligt werden? Welche Formen der Rückführung kommen in Betracht und welche Rolle kann die Digitalisierung und die Erstellung von Replika dabei spielen? Wie könnte eine zukünftige bi- und internationale Zusammenarbeit aussehen?

Teilnehmer: Inés de Castro, Rebekka Habermas, Manfred Loimeier

Moderation: Bartholomäus Grill

16.00 – 17.00

"Kritik unerwünscht? Zivilgesellschaft unter Druck"

Das erwartet Sie:

Nicht nur in Mittel- und Osteuropa gerät die Zivilgesellschaft zunehmend unter Druck, auch bei uns in Deutschland gibt es Kritik an Legitimation und Mandat zivilgesellschaftlicher Organisationen. Was müssen und was dürfen diese Organisationen? Wer definiert ihre Macht und Verantwortung? Kann ein rechtlicher Rahmen das freie Wort stützen?

Teilnehmer: József Péter Martin, Jürgen Resch, Christian Bommarius, Eva Menasse (angefragt)

Moderation: Hartmut Bäumer

16.30 – 17.30

"Künstlerin, Kämpferin, Kosmopolitin: Frauen schreiben das 21. Jahrhundert"

Das erwartet Sie:

Jennifer Clement, Elif Shafak und Mercedes Rosende sind international erfolgreich. In ihren Romanen spielen Außenseiterinnen die Hauptrollen. Schreiben sie damit gegen vorgefertigte Rollen an, die Romane für Frauenfiguren bereithalten? Ein Gespräch über ihre Romanfiguren und die Repräsentanz von Frauen im Literaturbetrieb.

Teilnehmer: Mercedes Rosende, Elif Shafak, Jennifer Clement

Moderation: Juergen Boos

 

12.00 – 13.00

"30 Jahre Mauerfall – 30 Jahre „Samtene Revolution"

Das erwartet Sie:

Das Jahr 1989 steht im Hinblick auf Deutschland und auch ganz Ost- und Mitteleuropa unbestritten für den Beginn grundlegender Veränderungen. In der Geschichte finden sich nur wenige Beispiele bei denen sich in einem so kurzen Zeitraum in so vielen Ländern gleichzeitig das gesamte Staatssystem, und zwar von der politischen bis zu wirtschaftlichen und kulturellen Ebene, so grundlegend wandelte.  

Teilnehmer: Rita Süssmuth, František Mikloško, Petr Pithart  

Moderation: Daniel Kraft

15.00 – 16.00

"Zwischen Hilflosigkeit und Hoffnung – Leben mit dem Klimawandel" 

Das erwartet Sie:

Die planetaren Lebensbedingungen verändern sich, der Einfluss der Menschheit auf diese war nie größer. Was sagt die Wissenschaft zum Zustand der Erde und welche Hoffnungen liegen in neuen Technologien wie Künstliche Intelligenz? Was für Zukunftsbilder entwirft die Literatur, wenn es den Klimawandel miteinbezieht? Welche Ergebnisse erzeugen Proteste der jungen Generationen, welche Ängste liegen dahinter?

Video-Einspieler: Paul J. Crutzen 

Teilnehmer: Uwe Schneidewind, Luisa Neubauer, Thore D. Hansen, Michael Müller

Moderation: Ulrich Noller

   

 

Unser Einfluss auf den Planeten: unübersehbar

Das romantische Bild unberührter Natur gibt es schon lange nicht mehr. Kein Wunder: ist die Weltbevölkerung in knapp 50 Jahren seit 1960 auf über sieben Milliarden Menschen angestiegen. Wir sind inzwischen die verändernde Kraft auf der Erde – und das demonstrieren wir überdeutlich: Müllberge, ausgetrocknete Seen und verschmutzte Ozeane sind nur einige Bilder, die das Anthropozän prägen.

Alles, was Sie für ein inspirierendes Messeerlebnis brauchen?

Eine Eintrittskarte. Jetzt kaufen und auf der Frankfurter Buchmesse staunen, netzwerken und diskutieren.