Skip to main content
Back
Wolfgang Bauer

© Andy Spyra

Wolfgang Bauer

Journalist
Suhrkamp Verlag

Wolfgang Bauer, born in 1970, works for the weekly newspaper Die Zeit. He has been awarded the Theodor Wolff Prize and the Prix Bayeux-Calvados des Correspondants de Guerre, among others, for his reporting. His book Über das Meer (English: Crossing the Sea) was a bestseller and has been translated into ten languages.

Am Ende der Straße. Afghanistan zwischen Hoffnung und Scheitern. Eine Reportage.

Hardly any German journalist knows Afghanistan as well as Wolfgang Bauer. The Zeit reporter was on the ground many times, made the fates of the people vivid in award-winning reportages. Early on, he warned of a return of the Taliban. In August 2021, one of his closest colleagues was murdered.
After the fall of Kabul, Wolfgang Bauer returns once more. He travels the Ring Road, seeks out places he has visited in the last 20 years - and explores the question: Why did the West fail in Afghanistan? What does this failure have to do with development aid worth billions? And where do things go from here? His reportage is a parable about hope and failure in the Hindu Kush.

Wolfgang Bauer: Am Ende der Straße. Afghanistan zwischen Hoffnung und Scheitern. Eine Reportage. Suhrkamp Verlag, 2022

Past Events

21 October 2022,

Frankfurt Forum: Afghanistan today

Back

Direkt zum Inhalt
Zurück
Wolfgang Bauer

© Andy Spyra

Wolfgang Bauer

Journalist
Suhrkamp Verlag

Wolfgang Bauer, geboren 1970, arbeitet für die Wochenzeitung Die Zeit. Für seine Reportagen wurde er u. a. mit dem Theodor-Wolff-Preis und dem Prix Bayeux-Calvados des Correspondants de Guerre ausgezeichnet. Sein Buch Über das Meer war ein Bestseller und wurde in zehn Sprachen übersetzt.

Am Ende der Straße. Afghanistan zwischen Hoffnung und Scheitern. Eine Reportage.

Kaum ein deutscher Journalist kennt Afghanistan so gut wie Wolfgang Bauer. Der Zeit-Reporter war viele Male vor Ort, machte die Schicksale der Menschen in preisgekrönten Reportagen anschaulich. Früh warnte er vor einer Rückkehr der Taliban. Im August 2021 wurde einer seiner engsten Mitarbeiter ermordet.
Nach dem Fall Kabuls kehrt Wolfgang Bauer noch einmal zurück. Er bereist die Ring Road, sucht Orte auf, die er in den letzten 20 Jahren besucht hat – und geht der Frage nach: Warum ist der Westen in Afghanistan gescheitert? Was hat dieses Scheitern mit der milliardenschweren Entwicklungshilfe zu tun? Und wie geht es weiter? Seine Reportage ist eine Parabel über Hoffnung und Scheitern am Hindukusch.

Wolfgang Bauer: Am Ende der Straße. Afghanistan zwischen Hoffnung und Scheitern. Eine Reportage. Suhrkamp Verlag, 2022

Vergangene Veranstaltungen

21. Oktober 2022,

Frankfurt Forum: Afghanistan heute

Zurück