Skip to main content
Back
Peter Svetina

© Saša Kovačič

Peter Svetina

Author

Peter Svetina graduated from the Faculty of Arts in Ljubljana with a degree in Slovenian Studies and received his Ph.D. in Old Slovene Poetry. After graduating from the same faculty, he was first appointed assistant professor of Slovenian literature and then for a short time the head of the Pioneer Library in Ljubljana. Since 2003, he has been working at the Institute of Slavonic Studies at the University of Klagenfurt (since 2007 as an associate professor). 

He has written professional and scientific papers on old Slovenian literature, Slovenian lyrical poetry, and young adult literature. He edited the anthology of old Slovenian young adult literature Pionirji na promenadi, and his work Metuljčki in mehaniki is particularly focused on understanding Slovenian young adult literature in relation to its social context. He has also co-created textbooks and has translated from other languages (English, Czech, German, and Croatian). 

Most notably, he writes for children and youth. His first picture storybook, O mrožku, ki si ni hotel striči nohtov, was published in 1999 and was soon followed by a play for puppet theatre. Several of his poems and stories have been translated into foreign languages (English, German, and Korean). He also writes poems for adults. His first collection, Kavarna v prvem nadstropju, was published in 2001. 

Past Events

20 October 2022,

Slovenia press conference

Back

Direkt zum Inhalt
Zurück
Peter Svetina

© Saša Kovačič

Peter Svetina

Autor

Peter Svetina absolvierte die Philosophische Fakultät in Ljubljana mit einem Abschluss in Slowenistik und einer Promotion in früher slowenischer Poesie. Nach seinem Abschluss an derselben Fakultät war er zunächst Assistent für slowenische Literatur, dann für kurze Zeit Leiter der Pionierbibliothek in Ljubljana. Seit 2003 ist er am Institut für Slavistik der Universität Klagenfurt tätig (seit 2007 als außerordentlicher Professor).

Er schreibt Fach- und Wissenschaftsartikel über ältere slowenische Literatur, slowenische Poesie und Jugendliteratur. Er hat die Anthologie älterer slowenischer Jugendliteratur, Pioniere auf der Promenade herausgegeben. Im Werk Schmetterlinge und Mechanik beschäftigt er sich vor allem mit dem Verständnis slowenischer Jugendliteratur in Bezug auf den gesellschaftlichen Kontext. Er beteiligt sich auch an der Erstellung von Lehrbüchern und übersetzt aus anderen Sprachen (Englisch, Tschechisch, Deutsch und Kroatisch).

Er schreibt vor allem für Kinder und Jugendliche. Sein erstes Bilderbuch war O mrožku, ki si ni hotel striči nohtov (Über das Walross, das sich nicht die Nägel schneiden wollte) erschien 1999, kurz darauf folgte ein Puppenspiel. Einige seiner Gedichte und Geschichten wurden in Fremdsprachen (Englisch, Deutsch und Koreanisch) übersetzt. Er schreibt auch Gedichte für Erwachsene. Die erste Sammlung Kavarna v prvem nadstropju (Café im Ersten Stock) wurde 2001 veröffentlicht.

Vergangene Veranstaltungen

20. Oktober 2022,

Slowenien-Pressekonferenz

Zurück