Skip to main content
Back
portrait of Stacy Scott

© privat

Stacy Scott

Accessibility Manager
Taylor & Francis

As a blind Mathematics graduate, I have both the lived experience and professional vantage point from which to understand the challenges faced by learners with a print-disability and I am forever committed to breaking down barriers and improving the availability of accessible education - and enhancing independent study - for all.

I have been professionally involved in the Special Educational Needs and Disabilities (SEND) education sector, forming the basis for my career – beginning as a University advisor; and following a trajectory through a diverse and rewarding career.

In prior roles, I worked in Bangladesh, India and across several countries in Africa, on making education more inclusive, which saw my involvement in a vast array of diverse, illuminating and extremely meaningful and challenging projects.

I then headed the RNIB Bookshare Service in the UK; working with over 1,100 publishing partners, to bring their content onto the RNIB Bookshare platform, to be used by students with any print-disability, for free. The platform grew rapidly and currently provides over 760,000 free eBooks in a variety of accessible formats.

Moving closer to accessibility challenges in academia, I have just taken on the role as Accessibility Manager for Taylor & Francis, where I will aim to provide a clearer, more cohesive strategy on accessibility across the company, building on the wonderful, award-winning work T&F has already achieved.

I can often be found in the 'accessibility community' speaking at events or hosting/attending panels. I also chair the Accessibility Action Group for the Publishers Association. A group which brings publishers, vendors, stakeholders and end users together, to break down barriers to accessing any, and all, published materials. Something that still remains my raison d'etre!

Past Events

19 October 2022,

Accessibility in action: three challenges for the publishing industry

Back

Direkt zum Inhalt
Zurück
Porträt von Stacy Scott

© privat

Stacy Scott

Managerin für Barrierefreiheit
Taylor & Francis

Als blinde Mathematik-Absolventin habe ich sowohl die Lebenserfahrung als auch den beruflichen Blickwinkel, um die Herausforderungen zu verstehen, mit denen Lernende mit einer Druckbehinderung konfrontiert sind, und ich setze mich stets dafür ein, Barrieren abzubauen und die Verfügbarkeit barrierefreier Bildung zu verbessern - und das unabhängige Lernen zu fördern - für alle.

Ich habe mich beruflich mit dem Bildungssektor für sonderpädagogischen Förderbedarf und Behinderungen (SEND) befasst, der die Grundlage für meine berufliche Laufbahn bildete - ich begann als Beraterin an der Universität und durchlief eine abwechslungsreiche und lohnende Laufbahn.

In früheren Positionen habe ich in Bangladesch, Indien und mehreren afrikanischen Ländern daran gearbeitet, die Bildung inklusiver zu gestalten. Dabei war ich an einer Vielzahl unterschiedlicher, aufschlussreicher und äußerst bedeutsamer und anspruchsvoller Projekte beteiligt.

Danach leitete ich den RNIB Bookshare Service in Großbritannien und arbeitete mit über 1.100 Verlagspartnern zusammen, um deren Inhalte auf die RNIB Bookshare-Plattform zu bringen, damit sie von Schülern und Studenten mit einer Druckbehinderung kostenlos genutzt werden können. Die Plattform wuchs schnell und bietet derzeit über 760.000 kostenlose eBooks in einer Vielzahl von barrierefreien Formaten.

Um mich den Herausforderungen der Barrierefreiheit im akademischen Bereich anzunähern, habe ich kürzlich die Stelle als Accessibility Managerin bei Taylor & Francis übernommen, wo ich mich um eine klarere, kohärentere Strategie für Barrierefreiheit im gesamten Unternehmen bemühen werde, aufbauend auf der wunderbaren, preisgekrönten Arbeit, die T&F bereits geleistet hat.

Ich bin oft in der "Accessibility-Community" anzutreffen, wo ich auf Veranstaltungen spreche oder an Panels teilnehme. Außerdem bin ich Vorsitzende der Accessibility Action Group der Publishers Association. Diese Gruppe bringt Verleger*innen, Anbieter*innen, Interessenvertreter*innen und Endnutzer*innen zusammen, um Barrieren für den Zugang zu allen veröffentlichten Materialien zu beseitigen. Das ist nach wie vor meine raison d'être!

Vergangene Veranstaltungen

19. Oktober 2022,

Barrierefreiheit in Aktion: drei Herausforderungen für die Verlagsbranche

Zurück