Skip to main content

32 days to go

Planen Sie Ihren Messebesuch

Deutscher Buchpreis 2020

Welcome to our live stream!

The broadcast will start shortly.

Short break on this stage.

Take a look at our other stages.

Todays livestream has ended.

Thank you for joining us. We'll be back tomorrow.

There is no programme on this stage today.

Take a look at our other stages.

Welcome to our live stream!

You're a bit early. We will be on air soon.

The programme has ended.

Thank you for joining us.

Connection problems

We are trying to reconnect..

Technical problem

Please reload the page

This session takes place in Zoom only.

Join us! Details and link in the programme below.

Join us here!

Monday, 12 October 2020, starting at 6.00 p.m.

Experience the “Novel of the Year” awards ceremony live

Once again, Germany’s Foundation for Book Culture and the Promotion of Reading (Stiftung Buchkultur und Leseförderung) of the German Publishers and Booksellers Association will present this year's German-language "Novel of the Year" award at the opening of Frankfurter Buchmesse. Out of 206 new releases, the jury has chosen six titles. Experience the awards ceremony live from home – digitally worldwide.

Verleihung des Deutschen Buchpreises 2020

Speaker: Preisträger Roman des Jahres

The Shortlist 2020:

  • Bov Bjerg: Serpentinen (English: Switchbacks), Claassen, January 2020
  • Dorothee Elmiger: Aus der Zuckerfabrik (English: Out of the Sugar Factory), Carl Hanser, August 2020
  • Thomas Hettche: Herzfaden (English: Heartstring), Kiepenheuer & Witsch, September 2020


  • Deniz Ohde: Streulicht (English: Sky Glow), Suhrkamp, August 2020
  • Anne Weber: Annette, ein Heldinnenepos (English: Annette, a Heroine Epic), Matthes & Seitz Berlin, February 2020
  • Christine Wunnicke: Die Dame mit der bemalten Hand (English: The Lady With the Painted Hand), Berenberg, August 2020