Skip to main content

Sharing Innovation - A new generation of children’s content

Mexico City
15th-17th November 2021

CONTEC Mexico

This year’s edition of CONTEC, an event that brings together players of both the publishing and creative industries will address illustration projects, the children’s book industry and visual storytelling. Besides this, the event will focus on transmedia narratives, animation and film.

Panel discussions, keynotes and a workshop on illustration will be part of the program, as well as the traditional Meet the Experts-conversations.

Speakers from Germany, Spain and Mexico will participate at this three-day summit in Mexico City, which is supported by the German Federal Foreign Office and Acción Cultural Española.
The event this year is a cooperation project with Centro Cultural de España, Fundación para las Letras Mexicanas and IBBY México.

All social distance and hygiene measures dictated by the health authorities and both institutions will be followed in order to ensure a safe event.
This physical summit offers a new opportunity to re-think the link between children’s literature and innovation such as new trends in illustration and design, content adaptation to other formats and devices. The meeting is a possibility to strengthen linkages among different actors involved in the process of creating visual content.

Programme

English

Download

Español

Download
Illustration projects

Illustration projects

Perspectives from and for illustrators:

Perspectives from and for illustrators:

Interesting perspectives of different generations of illustrators can give students key points to keep in mind when trying to find their way in the book publishing industry. The exchange of knowledge will be promoted through conferences and workshops, combining both theory and good practice.

The Children's book Compass

The Children’s Book Industry

Re-orientation to achieve young audiences

Re-orientation to achieve young audiences

Topics such as the status of the children’s book industry in Mexico, Spain and Germany, its new dynamics and how the industry is reorientating ideas to incorporate specific audiences to the children book universe will be at the heart of the debate. As well as the challenges of the contemporary’s children’s literature for publishers, writers and artists.

Crossmedia

Crossmedia

The world is multisensorial

The world is multisensorial

Nowadays but even more in future, animation, audio-visual projects as well as picture books will have an important role to play in the field of cultural industries. Digital environments have drastically changed the experience of approaching the content of a book and new ways to keep telling stories are there to be explored.

CONTEC Latam

The Frankfurter Buchmesse is the place where the key players of the content industry gather to share trends, developments and experiences.

One of the aims of the Frankfurter Buchmesse is to strengthen and consolidate the international book market through seminars, workshops and conferences, bringing the “Frankfurt Experience” to other parts of the world. CONTEC is a trade mark of the Frankfurter Buchmesse that pursues to create a space for reflection on the challenges and opportunities in the content industry. It is a meeting point for professionals from publishing as well as cultural and creative industries, a space for exchanging experiences and generating synergies among the players and a hub for exploring new business opportunities. During the last years, many topics related to innovation, technology, business models supporting the book industry and the links to other creative industries were discussed at CONTEC. This includes among others the importance of metadata, self-publishing, diversification of marketing, visibility and cooperation between bookstores, user behaviour analysis and new business models such as audiobooks. International speakers from countries such as Germany, France, USA, UK, Canada, India, Denmark, Poland, Switzerland, Sweden and Iberoamerican countries have participated at the events.

New Circuits for Content

What all creatives industries share is their focus on content.

Content can´t be longer attached to one format or branch and must be able to navigate from one creative industry to the next one. It has to be flexible and adaptable to new uses and formats.

The current business models could be more profitable by expanding the value chain to other creative industries.

Videogame, Cinema/TV and music industries have adopted business dynamics that have dramatically modified the cultural consumption of their users.

The publishing industry stands out as the source of content, which has just started to be explored in other fields.

CONTEC brings together all players of the publishing and creative industries.

….all kinds of publishers as well as creators of edutainment content, programmers, transmedia platform developers, community managers, technology suppliers, booksellers, librarians and everyone interested in transforming and consolidating his business to explore the latest trends and developments in creation, publishing, reading and distribution processes. It is all about storytelling in different media, whether it is a print book, an e-book, an audiobook, a film, an art piece, a videogame or content distributed via social media.

Last Editions of the CONTEC Conference

  • CONTEC Mexico, Mexico City, February 18th and 19th 2020
  • CONTEC Argentina, Buenos Aires April 26, 2019
  • CONTEC Mexico, Mexico City, February 19 and 20, 2019

  • CONTEC Mexico, Mexico City, June 18, 19 and 20, 2018

  • CONTEC Mexico, Mexico City, June 14 and 15, 2017
  • CONTEC Colombia, Medellin, September 9 and 10, 2015

  • CONTEC Brazil, Belo Horizonte, November 18, 2014

  • CONTEC Brazil, Canoas & São Paulo February 18, 19 and 20, 2014

  • CONTEC Brazil, Rio de Janeiro, August 30, 2013

  • CONTEC Brazil, São Paulo, August 7 and 8, 2012

Direkt zum Inhalt

Sharing Innovation - A new generation of children’s content

Mexico City
15.-17. November 2021

CONTEC México

Die diesjährige Ausgabe von CONTEC, einer Veranstaltung, die Akteure der Verlags- und Kreativbranche zusammenbringt, wird sich mit der Illustration, der Kinderbuchbranche und dem visual storytelling befassen. Darüber hinaus wird sich die Veranstaltung auf crossmedia, Animation und Film konzentrieren.

Podiumsdiskussionen, Keynotes und ein Workshop zum Thema Illustration stehen ebenso auf dem Programm wie die traditionellen "Meet the Experts"-Gespräche.

An dem dreitägigen Treffen in Mexiko-Stadt, der vom Auswärtigen Amt und Acción Cultural Española aus Spanien unterstützt wird, nehmen Referenten aus Deutschland, Spanien und Mexiko teil.

Die Veranstaltung ist in diesem Jahr ein Kooperationsprojekt mit dem Centro Cultural de España, der Fundación para las Letras Mexicanas und IBBY México.

Alle von den Gesundheitsbehörden und den Institutionen vorgeschriebenen sozialen Distanzierungs- und Hygienemaßnahmen werden eingehalten, um eine sichere Veranstaltung zu gewährleisten.

Dieses Präsenz-Veranstaltung bietet eine neue Gelegenheit, die Verbindung zwischen Kinderliteratur und Innovation neu zu denken, z. B. neue Trends in der Illustration und im Design sowie die Anpassung von content an andere Formate und Geräte. Das Treffen bietet die Möglichkeit, die Verbindungen zwischen den verschiedenen Akteuren zu stärken, die am Prozess der Erstellung visueller Inhalte beteiligt sind.

Lassen Sie sich von den spannenden Gesprächen inspirieren!

Programm

Deutsch

Download

Español

Download
Illustration Projects

Projekte zur Illustration

Perspektiven von und für Illustratoren

Perspektiven von und für Illustratoren

Interessante Perspektiven verschiedener Generationen von Illustratoren können den Studierenden wichtige Anhaltspunkte geben, wenn sie versuchen, ihren Weg in der Buchverlagsbranche zu finden. Der Wissensaustausch wird durch Konferenzen und Workshops gefördert, die sowohl Theorie als auch gute Praxis miteinander verbinden.

The Children's Book Compass

Der Kinderbuchmarkt

Reorientierung, um junges Publikum zu erreichen

Reorientierung, um junges Publikum zu erreichen

Themen wie die Situation der Kinderbuchbranche in Mexiko, Spanien und Deutschland, ihre neue Dynamik und die Neuausrichtung der Branche, um spezifische Zielgruppen in das Kinderbuchuniversum zu integrieren, werden im Mittelpunkt der Debatte stehen. Außerdem werden die Herausforderungen der zeitgenössischen Kinderliteratur für Verleger, Autoren und Künstler erörtert.

Crossmedia

Crossmedia

Die Welt ist multisensorisch

Die Welt ist multisensorisch

Heutzutage, aber noch mehr in der Zukunft, werden Animationsfilme, audiovisuelle Projekte und Bilderbücher eine noch wichtigere Rolle im Bereich der Kulturindustrie spielen. Digitale Medien haben die Art und Weise, wie man sich dem Inhalt eines Buches nähert, drastisch verändert, und es gilt, neue Wege des storytelling zu finden.

CONTEC Latam

Auf der Frankfurter Buchmesse treffen sich die Schlüsselakteure der Content-Industrie um sich über Trends, Entwicklungen und Erfahrungen auszutauschen.

Eines der Ziele der Frankfurter Buchmesse besteht darin, durch Workshops und Konferenzen den internationalen Buchmarkt zu verstärken und konsolidieren. Auf diese Weise wird die „Frankfurter Erfahrung“ an andere Orte gebracht. Unter der Marke CONTEC, die die Frankfurter Buchmesse eingeführt hat, wird ein Raum zur Reflexion über die Herausforderungen und Chancen in der Content-Industrie sowie ein Treffpunkt für Fachleute und Experten der Buch-, Kultur- und Kreativindustrien etabliert, die sich über Erfahrungen austauschen, Synergien generieren und neue Geschäftsmöglichkeiten erkunden. In den letzten Jahren waren die Hauptthemen Innovation, Technologie, Geschäftsmodelle für die Buchindustrie sowie die Verbindungen zu anderen Kreativindustrien. Dabei standen Metadaten, Self-publishing, Marketingdiversifizierung, Kooperation unter den Buchhandlungen, Analyse des Nutzerverhaltens sowie neue Geschäftsmodelle wie Hörbücher im Fokus. Internationale Sprecher aus Ländern wie Deutschland, Frankreich, USA, Großbritannien, Kanada, Indien, Dänemark, Polen, der Schweiz, Schweden und allen iberoamerikanischen Ländern haben an den verschiedenen Events teilgenommen.

Neue Wege für den Content

Alle Kreativindustrien haben einen gemeinsamen Nenner: Content.

Content kann nicht mehr an einem Format oder einer Branche gebunden sein und muss somit von einer Kreativindustrie zu der nächsten übergehen können. Content muss je nach Format und Nutzung flexibel und anpassungsfähig sein.

Die aktuellen Geschäftsmodelle könnten viel profitabler sein, wenn die Wertschöpfungskette auf andere Kreativindustrien erweitert würde.

Videospiele, Film und Fernsehen und Musik sind Industrien wo Geschäftsmodelle übernommen wurden, die den Konsum von Kulturgütern drastisch verändert haben und zu einem höheren Gewinn geführt haben.

Die Buchbranche ist dafür bekannt, die Quelle von Content zu sein, und zu ihrem Nutzen sollte dieser in anderen Bereichen ausgeschöpft werden.

CONTEC Veranstaltungen in der Vergangenheit

  • CONTEC Mexiko, Mexiko City, 18. und 19. Februar, 2020
  • CONTEC Argentinien, Buenos Aires 26. April, 2019
  • CONTEC Mexiko, Mexiko City, 19. und 20. Februar, 2019

  • CONTEC Mexiko, Mexiko City, 18., 19. und 20. Juni, 2018

  • CONTEC Mexiko, Mexiko City, 14. und 15. Juni, 2017
  • CONTEC Kolumbien, Medellin, 9. und 10. September, 2015

  • CONTEC Brasilien, Belo Horizonte, 18. November, 2014

  • CONTEC Brasilien, Canoas & São Paulo, 18., 19. und 20. Februar, 2014

  • CONTEC Brasilien, Rio de Janeiro, 30. August, 2013

  • CONTEC Brasilien, São Paulo, 7. und 8. August, 2012